‘Gael’s Vision’ 40th Anniversary Edition


‘Gael’s Vision 40th Anniversary Edition’ is the remixed and enhanced version of Joe O’Donnell’s 1977 album ‘Gaodhals’ Vision’.  It has four additional tracks and some fine previously unheard contributions from Rory Gallagher.  There is also the live DVD of the complete album performed at Coventry Belgrade Theatre by Joe O’Donnell’s Shkayla, guest musicians, Irish and Indian dancers and more, plus 16 page full colour booklet too – all for £14.95.


SKU: SKU-audio-cd-plus-dvd Categories: , Tags: , , ,


‘Ahead of his time and seriously accomplished…pulses with creative energy’ – Irish Music Mag

Why the 40th Anniversary Edition?

‘Gael’s Vision’ 40th Anniversary Edition celebrates the 1977 album release of ‘Gaodhal’s Vision’ by Celtic fusion violinist Joe O’Donnell.

The original album received wide acclaim and made a lasting impression. It still commands affection and respect today. It blends haunting Celtic melodies, lush orchestrations, searing rock feels and Indian musical influences.

Top musicians of the day played on the album, especially guitar legend Rory Gallagher.  Joe and Rory enjoyed a warm musical friendship.  The others were Steve Bolton (Atomic Rooster, The Who, guitar), David Lennox (Ginger Baker, Blodwyn Pig, The Equals, keyboards), Jon Field (Jade Warrior, woodwinds), Theodor Thunder (Alan Price Band, drums), and Bill Smith (Long John Baldry, Leo Sayer, bass).

Delving into the master tapes Joe has added 18 minutes of material, all remixed, re-mastered, and some arrangements enhanced. There are four tracks which were not included on the original vinyl for space reasons.  One of these Joe has completed now for the first time.  He has also brought to light some previously unheard contributions by Rory Gallagher. Rory plays both his much loved Strat and his rarely heard Martin acoustic guitar.  His presence is as vibrant as ever, perhaps even more so with the help of today’s technology!

01. The Vision

02. Exodus

03. Caravan

04. Sea Crossing and Storm

05. The Battle an Retreat Underground

06. Tara

07. The Feish

08. The Provincial Kings – track recently completed from original recordings

09. The House of Hostages

10. For trades and Hospitality

11.House of Warriors

12. The Great Banqueting Hall

13. Poets and Storytellers – with Rory Gallagher

14. Lament for Coire Sainnte – with Rory Gallagher

15. Tribes


Here Joe shares the story about the legend behind ‘Gael’s Vision’ and reminisces about making the album (8 mins)


Included in the package is the full-length live DVD of ‘Gael’s Vision’ performed by Joe O’Donnell’s Shkayla with guest musicians, Irish and Indian dancers, narration and dramatic images, filmed at the Coventry Belgrade Theatre.

Features to look out for:

  • some tracks are now longer than on the original vinyl
  • new and extended, tonally improved lead guitar by Rory (electric and acoustic)
  • previously unheard additional track
  • enriched orchestral passages
  • contributions by Joe’s powerful Coventry band Shkayla and other guest musicians

There is also a fine 16pp illustrated souvenir booklet with insights into the original album and the 40th Anniversary Edition by John O’Regan and Pete Clemons.


From ‘Standing With Stones’ by Michael Bott. Used with permission










Additional information

Weight 0.115 kg
Dimensions 140 × 125 × 14 cm

1 review for ‘Gael’s Vision’ 40th Anniversary Edition

  1. joeodonnell

    “Ready to be recognised as a masterpiece” – Let It Rock

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *